Custard Butterflies

I haven’t got a net,
A box or a jar,
But into the dining room
I roam,
Hunting for custard butterflies
To call my own.
Very rarely they flap,
Unless blown on a spoon,
And very rarely they flutter
Unless captured too soon.
But the expedition my friends,
The expedition is on
And when I find the custard butterflies
They soon will be gone.
For the hunt,
Yes the hunt,
Oh the hunt!
Is never a chore
The only downside
Is that I’m left wanting more.
More of the butterflies,
The sweet, creamy butterflies,
The yummy on flutter pies,
The scrummy on mutter sighs,
Bring me a farm,
A plantation,
A zoo
Of custard butterflies,
Until my utter size
Becomes a gut
Of splutter cries.

7 Responses to “Custard Butterflies”

  1. This is wonderful! Well done 🙂

  2. beautiful…

  3. This is awesome! When I saw you’d entered the Children’s theme contest I was so curious. I really want pudding now

  4. rickcag Says:

    that was a fun read, thanks for sharing

  5. A tasty poem for the senses. I enjoyed it very much.

  6. how cool to see you join short story slam week 6,

    you are capable of everything creative.
    hope to see you do week 7.

    blessings.

Leave a Reply

