Beautiful Reverie

The city smelt sweet,
Everything seemed right
Even the sunshine followed me
As I spoke to strangers
Like a high on life salesman
Unleashing his patter
To a crowd waving money.

Shadows were lit up with smiles,
Laughter weaved
Through the breeze
And tickled my tongue,
Nothing felt wrong,
It was like an epiphany
Or at least a great dream.

You were the beautiful conclusion
To a day that made my life
Or at least contained an upturn,
A fortune of riches
Kissing my lips
And holding me close,
A lifetime of wonder.

It seemed nothing could go wrong,
Words became pictures
And the pictures became stories
Filled with pride, love and glory,
Hope and adventure,
Mountains seemed smaller,
The world was our oyster.

Every kiss pulled a heartstring,
Every moment was speeding,
I felt giddy and blissful,
The world had never
Seemed so alive,
Birds spoke words in the garden,
Idiots dared to dream.

3 Responses to “Beautiful Reverie”

  1. moving,

    love the positive mood here.
    🙂

  2. I don’t see positive here. (Or even negative.) I just see a past dream. Maybe that dream could never be present because it never had a future. At some stage, even idiots have to stop dreaming. Something like that…

  3. Your right and wrong. It’s filled with positivity but it’s all intentionally past tense, hence the sadness and the dream-like aura. A smile that created a tear, I guess.

Leave a Reply

