With the Fringe Actress

Down the alley
Where the crackheads
Meet the Christians
And the church bells gently sigh,

Underneath the graffiti
Where the taggers sign respect
And the school kids
Leave beer cans and trollies,

Is where I first
Heard you swear
With the eloquence
Of a drunken playwright.

I watched the spit
Shine on your lips
And laughed at your arms
As they swung with confusion.

I had half a thought
To hush you and hold you
Between the harsh coloured walls
Where the midnight losers piss,

Singing twisted throat sounds
And balancing their chips.
I wanted to drop my burger
And worship you for minutes

With the confidence
To improvise thereafter.

Poetry.net

3 Responses to “With the Fringe Actress”

  1. I love the unexpected turns of this poem, and how well you conveyed that sort of mind-popping moment of recognition.

    Salaams,
    Patricia

  2. Oh, and did I mention the accompanying ironies? I like those too.

  3. dunstancarter Says:

    Cheers Patricia – glad you liked it!

Leave a Reply

