A Song in a Rioting Crowd

So, here we are again,
A fine-looking picture,
A sunset made golden,
A break in a storm
Separated only by oceans
And a fate half amused
By the nonsense it drops.

A year of bad fortune
Is quickly drifting away,
A smile in my heart
As wide as my ribcage,
A happiness planted in wine,
Your hand in my hand
As we glide.

You are the brightest of skies,
The softest of clouds
The kind that only winter brings
Briefly and succinctly,
Quietly and strange,
You are the beauty
Of a season unchanged,
A song in a rioting crowd.

Poetry.net

16 Responses to “A Song in a Rioting Crowd”

  1. Brilliantly written. Love the 2nd part 🙂

  2. dunstancarter Says:

    Thanks Ashley

  3. lovely word painting…
    smiles.
    🙂

    have fun, let us know after you are done 18 commenting.

  4. Isn’t it amazing how one person can lift us, cause a year of bad fortune to quickly drift away. Such a pretty poem. I feel good.

  5. dunstancarter Says:

    We are very lucky sometimes and we’re rarely alone when fortune smiles… does that make sense? I think I know what I mean.

  6. I like this a lot. From the nonsense fate drops to the smile ‘as wide as my ribcage’. Kudos!

  7. nice write .. liked it .

  8. Loved the title–and the line “A smile in my heart / As wide as my ribcage” struck a chord in me. It’s a sweet piece. Thanks for sharing it for the rally!

  9. enjoyed this
    especially
    the line
    “a song in a rioting crowd’
    powerful
    really

    later,
    este

  10. love this… especially last paragraph “you are the brightest of skies…
    Quietly and strange”

  11. Greetings:

    Hope all is well.

    Noting that you have been part of poets rally in the year of 2011,
    what an achievement, thanks for your outstanding contribution to us
    along the way, keep up the excellence. Best!

    Come join our poetry rally today if you wish to mingle and get inspired!

    A poem of your choice or a free verse is accepted.

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

    Looking forward to seeing you share.
    Respect and hugs.
    xoxox

  12. Oh, my goodness! How beautiful. Never was expecting this, with the title. It feels so deep, with the sweeping nature images of sea and sky, and the internal body images of heart and ribcage. Fantastic.

    I am in awe, but I will point you to my offering, since I guess we’re here to read and share:
    http://elainedanforth.wordpress.com/2012/08/02/light-was-not-always/

  13. Dunstan this is absolutely stunning, so romantic and I am with Robin I have a soft spot for strange people as well! Wow like is not strong enough. Thanks for joining in!

  14. nice…i like the closing lines…where your title comes from…there is a nice contrast in there….like the transformation as well…

  15. Reading this just makes me happy. Here comes the sun…

Leave a Reply

