Widow

They believe me when I say,
I feel as fresh as the buds on a spring tree,

A single bird seen
Through the shard of a window,
A single branch bending
To balance its weight.

They believe me when I say,
The past is a blessing and the future sits smiling,

A single chimney seen
Through a half opened blind,
A single wave of smoke
Drifting weakly and cheerless.

They believe me when I say,
I’ve nothing but joy on my mind,

They are fools
But they keep me alive.

Poetry.net

3 Responses to “Widow”

  1. They believe me when I say,
    I feel as fresh as the buds on a spring tree,

    beautiful…..

    Thanks for sharing…
    🙂

  2. I see this so often. There are so many people who are incapable of letting you know when they are in pain. Excellent poetry.

    http://liv2write2day.wordpress.com/2011/01/24/boundaries-jingles-poetry-potluck/

  3. welcome join us tonight at Jingle Poetry Potluck, have fun!
    Thanks for the inspirations and dedications..link in your entries now..

    Happy Writing!

    😉

Leave a Reply

