Turquoise

This turquoise dilemma,
The loosening of damp clothes,
A port where the flies
Try to leave,

I hold on like the past
Is a raft slowly drifting,
Memories queue up,
Sea salt starts tingling,

I sink wine in seconds
And marvel at ripples,
Riddled with visions
And the positions I’m found in.

Why now?
Why here?
I’m bluer than oceans
And my sweat is a day job,

If this is the moment,
Boil me like cabbage
And take out my eyes
Like this is a stage show

And I am the victim,
I can smile like the clown
And weep like the mother,
Fall like the loser

But pick myself up
In the middle of traumas,
You see rising is easy
But the hereditary sings,

Songs, sweet songs,
The sweet songs of sailors,
I am here for the taking
But my seas are diseased.

You can make me shout wondrous,
You can drown my ambition
But there’s always a melody
And forever a chance,

You have written me off
With your odds and transitions
But still I hold fast and shout out
Like a chancer with loose change,

Stay slack and believe me
I am trapped with the knowledge
That if I’m not right
I’m broken.

Let’s just lie here and grey sky,
There are worse things than torment,
It’s ok to be vague,
We are made from loose templates,

This turquoise dilemma
Is weaved beneath night skies
And I’m amused by confusion
And the lack of solutions,

No intrigue or meanings,
No paths or betrayals,
Just the simple admission
Of not quite decisions.

Such a shame things are choppy,
If they weren’t I’d be spending
My time with magicians
Instead of just flailing,

But it’s written in the stars,
Drifters drown like the jealous
And indecision breeds trouble
Like a glacier broken,

So lose your floating emotions,
We are lost and uncertain,
Sick and unsighted
And sinking with doubt,

Shout if you want to,
Let it all out.

Poetry.net

One Response to “Turquoise”

  1. Wow – great poem

Leave a Reply

