Head High

Head high to the stars
And the rooftops will hold you
Closer than never before,

Let the black cloud your eyes,
Knock on the door,
Jump in and before
Someone speaks

Shout your name,
Call for rain
And proclaim
You have dreams

That could
Cover the sky.

Poetry.net

8 Responses to “Head High”

  1. Clever, but apparently you don’t you wish to respond to comments. If you don’t wish to communicate you are going the right way about it.

  2. This one fits your blog theme perfectly,
    welcome and thanks for sharing.
    Cheers,

    A++

  3. dunstancarter Says:

    Hi Ken – apologies if you’ve felt I’m not interested in communicating with visitors to my blog. I’m always available to answer questions and I’m very grateful to any bloggers who’ve left me feedback, including yourself. I just tend not to comment on comments unless there’s a question that’s been asked. Not out of ignorance just so the blog isn’t full of me wittering on about my intentions, ideas, feelings, inspirations etc. I guess I want the poems to speak for themselves and be open to each individuals interpretation. Maybe you’re right and I should engage more. Anyway, I truly appreciate your comments and feedback. Thanks for visiting and sharing your thoughts. I hope you continue to read and comment πŸ™‚

  4. Those last four lines ; Priceless
    More posts please.

  5. AMAZING.
    truly amazing…
    “You have dreams

    That could
    Cover the sky.”

  6. Thanks for all your feedback Evelyn πŸ˜‰

  7. Po3tLov3 Says:

    Im analyzing your poem and comparing it to sakespeare’s sonnet 18, could you by chance give me any feedback on what was going on in your life when you wrote this poem? I noticed you said you dont do that kind of thing… But i’m suppose to analyze your sound etc & take a whack in the dark about what it means to YOU, and although I myself am a poet, I find that poems should be interpreted with what they mean to the reader, not seen from the writer’s side like a book.

  8. I don’t mind giving some background, especially if it’s for something you’re writing (I’d love to read it when it’s finished too). Drop me an email at dunstancarter1 (at) hotmail.com and I’ll reply later on today.

Leave a Reply

