A Battle Of Doubt

I keep waiting for these naysayers
To piss on my bonfire,

These dying breed nihilists
All hooked on warped shadows
And old dead dog dreams,

Filled with afterthoughts,
Carrying apocalyptic maps
And whispering Sartre,

Echoes and echoes
And echoes down
Tunnels and tunnels
And tunnels.

Here I stand in the light,
Clothes of fire,
A devil in the flames,

Looking to pass on this crown,
Never wore it
And still it weighed me down,

Still it reflected
The moon
And the truths
That I’d borrowed,

The sorrows and horrors
I’d scattered.

Tomorrow
I’ll wake up
With synthesised might,

Dry as a lab bone,
With a futurist flight,

The glory of science
All dischords and dirt,
Will stride my steps forward
From bed to the earth.

Poetry.net

4 Responses to “A Battle Of Doubt”

  1. this is very deep!

  2. this
    “All hooked on warped shadows
    And old dead dog dreams”
    and this
    “Echoes and echoes
    And echoes down
    Tunnels and tunnels
    And tunnels.”
    and also this
    “Tomorrow
    I’ll wake up
    With synthesised might

    great poem, gripping!

  3. Dennis Carter Says:

    Yeah, yeah, yeah. You’re a true post modern poet.

Leave a Reply

