I Slipped This Under The Bathroom Door

When the moon cries its silver
Or the sun spreads its smile,
It’s you in my mind,

You in the daydreams
That creeps across my face.

To lose you to circumstance,
New demons or sadness
Would unplug my heart;

We have the world at our feet,
Why push it onto our shoulders?
Why pull the clouds to our eyes?

I want to crown you on hilltops
And dance through the years,

Spinning with pleasure
And saluting the magpies,

Tasting the raindrops
And skipping round ladders,

We were born to weave wonder,
Please stay in my smile,

These heartbeats I cherish
Could stretch out for miles.

4 Responses to “I Slipped This Under The Bathroom Door”

  1. “We have the world at our feet,
    Why push it onto our shoulders?” Powerful powerful statement.

  2. Thank you, mlm – your comments always put a smile on my face

  3. Awww I am glad =)

  4. Dennis Carter Says:

    What beautiful love poem from a poet who knows what love is.
    I agree with mlm about:

    ‘We have the world at our feet,
    Why push it onto our shoulders?’

    It’s so quotable it should go into the next edition of The Oxford Dictionary of Quotations!

Leave a Reply

