Handfuls Of Snapshots

I don’t really remember
Those days anymore,

At best they’re just
Handfuls of snapshots,

Slender seconds of joy,
The kind that every
Now and then
Come to you in the shower,

Whispering their echoes;

And as for the longing,
It got left on that farm,

The one with the withered chickens
And the incessant rain,

The listless geese
And the terrible sandwiches.

Don’t get me wrong,

When all this ends,
You’ll be there in the slideshow,

But there won’t be any credits
And there’ll be
Happier things to focus on,

The smiles of my parents,
The day-glow faces
Of my friends,

And those two dogs
I once saw
Locked in coitus
In a car park,

Aroused, scared and confused,
Whimpering strange limericks,

Make of that
What you will.

5 Responses to “Handfuls Of Snapshots”

  1. Alicia Says:

    This is incredible. It’s so nice to read a longer poem as well. Refreshing. This poem has an awakened dominant essence and energy about it from the beginning to the end. Great work.

  2. Thanks Alicia – a smile has arrived on my face 🙂

  3. I love this piece, the character, the use of language it actually reminds me of Jim Carroll one of my favorite poets of all time =)

  4. I’ve not read any Jim Carroll. I shall have a look. Thank you 🙂

  5. Do he’s amazing =)

Leave a Reply

