Fresh And Frozen

I extend my arms
Till the world’s just
Scattered, listless ships
On turbulent, distant seas.

I try to stand tall
Like a funeral pyre,
Strong as sobs echo
And memories drone.

I stare into the darkness
And slowly drop to the floor,

Winds battle
And rain leaves
Fresh marks in the earth,
I breathe with the storm
And push dirt through my hair.

There’s an ushering madness
Bent across this lost skyline
And I’m nothing but sour words
And headaches.

In days to come
A gentler animal
Will wash up on these shores,
All doe-eyed and hypnotised,

A new mankind,
A preacher’s groan,
A monotone,

A dream frequently chosen,

Fresh and frozen
For realists.

Leave a Reply

