Whys Can Sigh

I looked deep in her eyes
And saw nothing but you,

I pieced together
The words she unraveled,

Bored and obtuse,

I turned them into song
And sung soft till the walls
Took your shadows,

Brought your scent here
To remind me I’m drifting,

A cornucopia
Of imagined birdsong

Greeting you
In these windows reflecting,

Distant whispers,

The hours we spent here
Talking wet rhymes and laughter,

The guessing games
And the patter,

Does it matter
I was wrong?

Whys can sigh
And then rise
Now you’re gone.

2 Responses to “Whys Can Sigh”

  1. I love this!

  2. Thanks Monet

Leave a Reply

