Winter’s First Night

There are songs I love
I’ll never need to hear again,

Paintings I’ve cherished
And left lining my memory,

Stories and poems left boxed,

They can all disappear.

I have filed away magic
And led myself into wandering,

New melodies hushing
The night’s bracing winds,

A quizzical wondering
With meandering ease;

And I have watched tramps kiss,

I have seen dogs sniff a million things,

Plus a thousand lost pigeons
All dreaming of coops

As they fight over spent seed
And coo under bridges.

I have drifted through
Winter’s first night,

Whispering songs I’ve forgotten,

Returned home.

It was cold.

One Response to “Winter’s First Night”

  1. This is one of the best poems you have ever written. It cries out for significant publication. It is superb!

Leave a Reply

